Strong Women Leadership Awards

The Strong Women Leadership Awards

The Strong Women Leadership Awards (SWLA)  identify, acknowledge and applaud the leadership strengths of Queensland rural, regional and remote women.

The Awards program frequently recognises women who are the invisible threads holding their local communities, regions, sectors and industries together and are connecting them with the wider world.

The 2020 SWLA program invites nominations in seven (7) categories.

There are also several categories specifically focused on younger women, those still emerging and developing their leadership interests and capacities.

Sponsors of the Awards

In 2019 and 2020 our Annual Conference (including the Youth Conference & Mentoring Program) and the Strong Women in Leadership Awards (SWLA) are supported by:

  • the Foundation for Rural & Regional Renewal;
  • Office of Women and the Queensland Government through their support of both the SWLA Awards, bursaries and the Youth Program which is conducted at the conference;
  • Westpac who sponsors the Breakfast and attendance of its keynote speaker; and
  • Panda Pearls generously supports through donating gifts for speakers, some prizes for awardees and raffles.

2020 Award Dinner

The Awards Dinner for 2020 will be held at the Gala Dinner for the 2020 QRRRWN Conference, in Charleville on 17 October 2020.

Award Categories & Nomination Process

Details of Award categories and dates will be forthcoming in March. Watch this space.

Our Alumnae

We look forward to introducing the faces of 2020’s Strong Women Leadership Awards, but take this moment to celebrate not only those who were successful in each of the categories in 2019, but all those who were nominated.


To enquire directly about the awards process, please email or email Davida Melksham at or Sarah Grayson at For other inquiries, please email Megan Kuhn at